5 things to use as motivation for consistent workouts

abs

Staying on track or getting started with your exercise routine can be challenging and at times boring. Here are a few things that I use to keep motivated with working out and eating healthy.

A big Hairy Audacious Goal – This is the goal that is realistic but not so easy to attain. For instance it could be running a 5k, entering a bikini competition, Triathlons, bike race competition, a photo shoot, getting married etc. The important part is that it is your goal, measurable, specific, and in writing. This keeps you working for a goal, having something to look forward to, and more likely to workout when you don’t necessarily want to.

Get a buddy or a trainer – this is where being accountable comes in to play. You miss less workouts when you have any other person to admit you are flaking out on. If a personal trainer is not affordable then going the buddy system route is a great option. Don’t have a buddy or spouse? Start a meet up group, an online group in facebook, or start a group at work. The important part is to feel accountable to yourself and to an outside source of support to help you push through less then motivated days.

Selfies – I know, I know but hear me out on this one. Taking pictures of you fitness progress is a way to visualize your results and see how far you have come. It is also a way to see if you are working as hard as you thought as well. So don’t be afraid to take some selfies of how things are progressing, just not be crazy and post them in a way that is offensive or annoying to anyone.

Inspiration board – Another fun way is to surround yourself with inspiration. Posting pictures of my goal and quotes that help keep me in a focused mindset made a huge impact on the days I wasn’t in the mood for the gym. I also would add them to my screen savers, wallpapers, and my bathroom mirror. This kept my goal in the front of my brain and when I was tempted to go off track I could really see the opportunity of success that I was giving up if I made an impulsive poor choice.

Gear – I embraced the excitement of rewarding myself for hitting mini-goals inside my BHAG. It is fun to get a cool headband or shirt with a fun saying on it. I looked forward to getting the chance to wear it and feel good walking into my workout. This can be done with a new song for your playlist, a new water bottle, socks, anything really. Lets say you really want to see a new movie that is out or a exhibit at a local museum, your reward can be anything you want as long as it doesn’t push your progress backwards. For example, making your goal weight for this week shouldn’t mean eating a boat load of junk food. Indulging should be in moderation not a reward for keeping a goal. Let go of the thought of earning a piece of cake and know that if you make a choice to indulge it is okay in moderation. A reward should be a symbol of the hard work you put in to meet the goal. Why do you think that Olympic athletes are given metals? It is a physical representation of excellence and you and your excellence are no different so treat it as such.

Leave a Reply

