Money Monday – Retail deals, Rebates, and Second Hand finds

 

A couple of other ways I score fabulous finds is by shopping clearance racks in clothing stores, cashing on apps like Ibotta and coupon 51, and buying second hand.

As Heidi Klum says “In fashion one day you are in and the next day you are out”.  If the price of that awesome item is going to be reduced in a few days, weeks, etc then by god I will wait. Now I won’t pretend that I always find what I want every time a sale happens and I am ok with that because I know that I will find something else I adore and I value not blowing my financial goals over a sweater.

Where are the clearance racks you ask? Well they are strategically placed in the back of the store to make you walk through all the new items. For example Abercrombie and Fitch has a whole room in the back of the store. Macy’s is tucked in the back corners of each department. Dillard’s puts them in corners or hiding by escalators. These precious gems are not well marked most days unless they are really trying to move inventory. Victoria Secret does semi annuals in January and June usually and some stores have a small pre-sale to kick it off. Express and Limited are similar because they use to be owned by the same company at one point. The key to these sale mother loads is one to save up for a trip and to hold out until items are at 50% to 75% off.  Stores often have a product packaging change and will deeply discount items that will be discontinued in that packaging so keep your eyes peeled and a little cash set aside in your blow money to take advantage of these deals.

On to apps! I just downloaded Ibotta and coupon 51. These apps give me rebates on all sorts of items and stores. All I have to do is unlock the rebate I want, scan my receipt and item purchased and cash is deposited in my account!! It’s that easy! Here is an example – found a 20% off coupon for Macy’s used it on clearance items and in store deals, then got a rebate on Ibotta for $10.

One of the items I scored big on was this Blazer shown below. The original retail was $58.00. I picked it up on clearance at 4.98, added 20% off at the register on my total purchase and also got $10 back by Ibotta, which makes may blazer FREE!!! Even the cashier high five’d me on this one!

material girl blazermaterial girl cavier black blazer

On to second hand deals. Remember when you use to swap clothes with your friends? Some of my friends and I still do it to this day. I look at second hand stores like Plato’s closet, Goodwill, My Best Friends Closet, ARC, and XS Thread’s as a way of going to a yard sale or getting something from a friend and compensating them.

I couldn’t tell you how many things I have gotten from second hand stores and tweaked, painted or just updated and then boom my house looks great! If you are worried about what your friends might think keep in mind once you pull the tag off there is no way of telling where or when you bought an item. Just the other day I picked up a great wicker basket from Pottery Barn with the original tags still on it, a cute summer dress from Apt 9, Miss Me jeans, and a Thermal stainless steel coffee pot for less than $20. One of my best finds happened last week when I grabbed a David’s Bridal dress for $30 and posted it for resale at over $200!!

Davids-Bridal-A-line-T8589-white-2006

When shopping second hand I look for a good clean condition, easy to update if needed, fair price, and is it on clearance? Yes, second hand stores need to move inventory as well and will have the same strategies as the big box stores so don’t let your deal hunting game be bamboozled here either!

It doesn’t take a lot to get great deals, just shop smart, compare prices, and don’t impulse buy. I hope you enjoyed this Money Monday and look forward to seeing you next time!

Leave a Reply

